The Devil with the Details

impatient /im-pey-shuhnt/

–adjective
1. not patient; not accepting delay, opposition, pain, etc., with calm or patience.
2. indicating lack of patience: an impatient answer.
3. restless in desire or expectation; eagerly desirous.
—Idiom
4. impatient of, intolerant of: impatient of any interruptions.

dictionary.reference.com (and his equally sexy brother, thesaurus.com) is a dear friend to the harried writer. In this case, definition #1 is applicable to Lisa #1, while definition #3 seems to apply more to Lisa #3 – wait, two – there are only two of us. Darn, I hate it when things don’t match up perfectly; I’m so dang impatient.

Lisa wants to charge full speed ahead while I tend to be cautious (read: insecure). Lisa says, “Let’s go for it!” I say, “Hmm.” Don’t get me wrong, I’m impatient in my own way. But I’ve been burned. Fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice – watch your back. And I’m the most dangerous kind of assassin – untrained and uncaring how clean the hit is.

To me, nothing is a waste of time. Well, almost nothing. There is facebook. And bejeweled. And navel-gazing. But I never cease to be amazed at how each step of this tedious process called novel writing is important, each detail, however seemingly small turns out to be a learning tool. It’s not always glamorous but it is interesting. And a little bit annoying. Patience is a harsh task master.

Leave a Reply

