The Doctor is In

It has been a gray and rainy weekend and I have done no writing. Oh, The Other Lisa (TOL) has tried to make me. She keeps sending me pesky e-mails with revisions of query letters, and the like. This is an odd reversal of our roles. In the twenty-some years we’ve known each other, I am usually Polly Perky and she is Debbie Downer. I’m not sure how to deal with the change.

In her efforts to rejuvenate me, Lisa took me to a book signing on Friday held by a lovely writer from the conference TOL attended. We got there late due to parenting concerns beyond our control. Once there, I ended up making a gibbering fool out of myself.  In my defense, it had been a hard week.

But I hardly know why I am sunk so deeply into this dismal funk. Here are some possible reasons:

  1. Actually finishing the manuscript was hugely anticlimactic, as, sadly, it means nothing to me unless it is published.
  2. Hope is a strangely draining emotion.
  3. It isn’t the hope that is draining, it is the constant reigning in of hope, the endless telling myself I probably won’t succeed just so it won’t hurt so much if I don’t.
  4. I sit at the computer too much and need to get more exercise.
  5. I haven’t had my evening glass of wine yet.

Luckily for me, I have discovered a way to stop the endless whirring of my beleaguered brain.  It may not work for long, but it has gotten me through this long, dark weekend of the soul. I have been watching Doctor Who: The Complete Second Series instead of thinking about anything in my own life.

This is a bit odd, as I never really liked the Doctor before.  TOL, a long-time fan, has been bugging me for years to watch. I tried earlier and came away saying, “Huh.” I didn’t get it. But TOL did not give up, she kept at me. If you are acquainted with her, you know she is the Countess of Carping, the Princess of Pestering. I’m glad she did keep harassing me, because I love the show now.

And, actually, I left the Doctor and Rose in 2012 London with a child snatching creature manifesting itself in a young girl, so I’ve got to get back to my busy work. Cheerio!

*TOL here: #1.) We are going on 30 years of knowing one another. 2.) Exercise is bad for the health – it wears out body parts faster. 3.) I don’t want to be Debbie Downer or Polly Perky, I want to be Amy Pond, the eleventh Doctor’s latest companion.

Leave a Reply

