Don’t Go Changin’ to Try and Please Me

Lisa nixed (rightfully so) a post I wrote and titled, Dead Two Writes. Upon further reflection, things aren’t as bad as they seemed a week or two ago when one of our cherished beta readers gave us a harsh critique. I tried to take it with a grain of salt, but they don’t make salt grains big enough, not even rock salt. So instead I rubbed that salt into my wound – my wounded pride. I marinated in salt. I weeped salty tears. Then I got over it.

Even though I’m a little pasty, I am not so fair haired or thin skinned that I can’t take criticism. You can please some of the people some of the time and all that jazz. There are popular books and authors I have no interest in reading, after all. And rejection? Pshaw. If you can’t take the heat get out of the book burning business. Something like that.

So the Lisas are working on confidence, perseverance, consistency and professionalism. Two guesses which Lisa finds consistency the most challenging on this list? The only track I stay on with rabid consistency is the one that leads to wherever I’ve hidden junk food from myself. Then I’m a bloodhound. But I sense professional head-shot photos in our future and I’m horrified that mine might have to be a half-head shot if I polish off the Easter goody basket. I’d say we have bigger fish to fry than one negative critique, but fried fish is out – make mine broiled salmon instead… Arrugh so many tasty distractions!

3 responses to “Don’t Go Changin’ to Try and Please Me

  1. Two Dead Writes – I love it. Please reconsider resurrecting that one. Also, the Lisa I work with is consistently fabulous, so I’m wondering if it’s the other Lisa who is having trouble with this concept. However, The Other Lisa is consistently witty (yes, I can tell your writing apart) so now I just don’t know which one of you is having this problem. Do fess up soon.

  2. Nope. Not for a minute.

Leave a Reply

