Lather, Rinse, Repeat (Eventually)

*Disclaimer to literary agents: The Lisas are the hardest working, unpaid authors in town. It’s a decent size town.

I love challenges. I like the whooshing sound they makes as they fly by, unmet. My apologies to the late, great Douglas Adams, upon whose actual quote (regarding deadlines) the above was based. I love deadlines too, and for the very same reason.

TOL (The Other Lisa), along with my other friend and assorted relatives have long put up with my almost daily, harebrained self-challenges. Recent quests on which I’ve embarked:

  • write 1,000 words a day
  • write 500 words a day
  • write something, anything a day
  • not gain weight

You can only imagine how successful I have been. So, in light of my life credo: keep your cleavage low and your expectations lower, I am undertaking a new strategy:

I, Lisa2, will hereby faithfully attempt to shower before noon on weekdays (excluding holidays, sick days and solar eclipses).

I know what you’re thinking, “What about federal holidays?” I’m still taking that up with my union. If you’re like me, I recommend a really good union (marriage or otherwise palimony-proof relationship).

What I’m  trying to do is make one small change; take little baby steps to change my behavior that might help in my overall struggle to stop procrastinating, be more productive and possibly conserve water if I can find a morning bath buddy. Any takers?

9 responses to “Lather, Rinse, Repeat (Eventually)

  1. I’m going to get a t-shirt that says “Keep your cleavage low and your expectations lower”. Maybe I’ll have stationary printed up with this brilliant credo. I will be certain to credit you, Lisa.

  2. Aloha! I decided I might drop a short comment considering that I’ve spent the greater part of the past 30 minutes reading through your blog posts. I’m fascinated with the quality of writing you’ve got yourself here, and I will undoubtedly be back again to say hiya again later on. Well that is all I need to say! Thanks again and also nice to ‘meet’ you 🙂

    • Aloha! And if you’re in Hawaii, we’d be happy to show up and write about your next event: luau, bar mitzvah, funeral – we’re flexible.

  3. I also want that t.shirt….at my age the cleavage is sinking at an alarming rate anyway.
    My only self challenge is to get out of bed in the morning.
    Most days I succeed!

  4. Pingback: The World’s Strangest Preoccupation « Lisa & Lisa Write a Book

  5. Pingback: Never Post Grape Nuts Before Breakfast | Lisa & Lisa Write a Book

  6. Pingback: Not Tonight, Dear, I Have a Blogache | Lisa & Lisa Write a Book

Leave a Reply

