Season’s Readings

The Lisas celebrate Christmas, which makes this a crazy-busy time of the year, at least for the one of us who won’t be sipping daiquiris poolside… 

 Unlike most families with their hyper-busy schedules, I am raising two adorable little slackers in my own image. Christmas break means no homework for them and no slave driving for me. We can have a week of pure relaxation before Christmas Day. Some of my best-loved authors have published new books recently and my cunning plan was to read them during our week of pajama-wearing sloth. I told myself I wouldn’t crack any of them open till then–I would work on all my tasks instead.

I am virtuously saving Trisha Ashley’s Twelve Days of Christmas until my workload is lighter. This is because I put it on my Christmas list and I won’t have it in my hands until after Christmas. I take credit for planning it this way–leaving the other two titles as my week-before-Christmas reading.

I finished Lois McMaster Bujold‘s Cryoburn  this past Tuesday. I read it in one night. I can’t count the number of responsibilities I ignored that night. They are as numerous as the grains of sand on the beach just outside of The Other Lisa’s door.

I started reading All Clear by Connie Willis the day after I finished Cryoburn. I have no will power. I also have no brain power. Willis wrote this fabulously detailed time travel book in two parts. Blackout was the first of the two book series and I read it several months ago. I think I am going to have to read them both again to fully grasp the intricacies of the plot. 

In the end it works out perfectly. If I hadn’t read everything already, I wouldn’t have a chance to re-read it on break. Perhaps this is an example of Connie Willis’s universe in which the space-time continuum is constantly trying to fix mistakes. Or maybe I’m just a slacker.

9 responses to “Season’s Readings

  1. I’m looking forward to the break, too. My guys wear fleece sleeper-suits to bed, and I’m not anticipating seeing them out of those until after their baths on Christmas eve. Luckily, they are Wii zombies, and won’t even notice.

    Just read Lincoln’s Dreams a month ago – good book. I’m now thinking of adding Blackout to my Christmas list.

  2. I am so phoning Christmas in this year. My kids are grown, and we’re visiting relatives for the holidays, so no cookies, or decorations. I’ll finally get to finish the Hunger Games, and catch up on magazines. Sweet!

    • One Lisa is right there with you and the other is thinkin, “Well spike the eggnog and color me drunken with jealousy.”

  3. I’m looking forward to some real downtime. I need to decompress.

  4. That would definitely help!

  5. Connie Willis for president.

Leave a Reply

