Let Them Eat Cake: The Skinny on Dieting for Author Bio Pics

It’s lunchtime on the east coast, but is never too early – or too late – for cake. And ice cream. Or pie à la mode. One Lisa likes pie best of all. To heck with the “five o’clock somewhere,” mantra; we’re trading in our martinis for milk and cookies. (Just kidding, we’ll take both obviously.)

This mostly kid-friendly party theme is brought to you by the letter C – for Celebration. It’s thelisas official announcement that our middle grade book is now being represented by the incomparable Mary Cummings, of Besty Amster Literary Enterprises. Mary has generated an amazing list of editors to whom she is pitching our book under the new working title CATNIPPED.

CATNIPPED is about a cat magically transformed into a boy by evil-doing creatures, and his quest to recapture his cathood. “Sure,” you say, “it has adventure, it has bad guys, but is it funny?” You know we can’t stay serious for long. We hope we are never called for jury duty. And don’t even ask us to babysit, unless you don’t mind furniture jumping, all-night scary movie marathons and serious drinking — soda. And your kids might even get to participate.

One hitch: 1Lisa cannot get TOL (The Other Lisa) to pose in advance for their authors’ jacket flap photo. Ah, the eternal debate: we’ll never look younger, but we could be skinnier. Oh, TOL will throw out the old cart-before-the-horse logic, while the other spouts, “Success breeds success!” (No, she didn’t read The Secret. She wishes she’d written it though. It made a lot of money.)  She suspects TOL is superstitous.  The debate rages on.

How would you celebrate an author milestone? If you have no plans to write a book, how would you celebrate being named Miss America? Winning a Nobel Prize? Whatever your biggest accomplishment or thrill, realized or aspired, we’d love to hear about it! Let’s party!

P.S. See One Lisa at the SCBWI Florida Mid-Year Workshop in Orlando on June 24-25. On the first day she’ll be eating pie, the next it’s all business.

19 responses to “Let Them Eat Cake: The Skinny on Dieting for Author Bio Pics

  1. Congratulations, ladies!!! How wonderful! I can’t wait to hear what happens next.

    I usually celebrate writing milestones with chocolate and a night off from writing/research. Actually, I celebrate ever day of my life with chocolate, so maybe it’s time to find a different rewards system?

    • Thanks, Amanda! We condone chocolate and slothfulness on every level. One Lisa is on a non-diet Coke and leftover Father’s Day cake RUSSSH as we speak. Must. Make. Diet Coke Run. Or is that Diet Coke Rum Runner? Hmmm…

  2. I could just die! (but not for another 30 years or so). I am so excited guys! I’ll be hefting a Diet Coke in your honor. Umm, what kind of pie are we talking?

    • TOL would call it humble pie. I call it any pie with a flaky crust (except mincemeat; I don’t know what it is and I don’t want to know. I’m stubborn like that.) P.S. Thank you for the well wishes but if you die on our watch we take it back.

  3. Thedesertrocks

    Lisa, I have a blog where I explain mincemeat in detail for some strange reason.
    Congrats on the Catnipped representation-that is so cool and I’m sure you’ll party like it’s 1999!

    • Mincemeat: the perfect storm of ‘find anything online’ married with ‘six degrees of separation’ meets ‘whether you like it or not’
      Thanks – we party every day like it’s 1999 because we’re stuck in a hot tub time warp. Pruny on many levels.

  4. I’m so happy (and a little jealous) of your representation! Pretty soon, I’ll be trolling the kid’s section looking for your book, finding it, and freaking people out when I shriek, “I KNOW THESE PEOPLE!!”

    Also thought about the whole author photo thing … I know I should get mine done, but … haven’t. Never been a fan of having my picture taken.

    • Did you say troll? You just gave away our true identities. We really want to use pen names, so when you show people a book by Stin Key and Tol Stoy, they may not believe you anyway. Feel free to tell them we couldn’t have done it without you XO XO

      I bet we can get a group discount on photography. We don’t want head shots though. Think they would put our feet on the book jacket?

  5. Lisas–when in doubt, go with a head-and-shoulders shot!

  6. Woohoo! Congrats, Lisa and Lisa and Lisa…oh wait, there are only two Lisa’s…

  7. WOW! Congrats! I totally knew that this was going to happen! (Me at a future cocktail party: “Yeah, I know the Lisas. We used to blog together. No, no autographs, please.”)

    • Thanks, Blogbrarian! We won’t forget the little people. Not that you are little. We’re not saying you’re fat either. REALLY. We’re not. Don’t read into this, okay? Thanks again. (Note to selves: just plain thanks next time.) *whew*

  8. Congratulations to you both! Funny as always. Take the pic — just stand really tall and turn sideways a little — my sister swears it makes you look taller and thinner.
    How do I celebrate writing milestones? It’s been so long since I’ve had one that I can’t remember what I did — it probably involved a bottle of wine.

  9. Thanks! To lend an air of mystery we’re toying with a sideways-to-the-point-of-completely-backward portrait. But TOL has a bald spot so even that is less than ideal. (don’t tell her, I’m not sure she knows)

  10. William Kendall

    Whilst you’re distracted, I’ll just help myself to that cake.

Leave a Reply

