Chick Lit Author Blog Hop Book Giveaway and Gift Card Contest!

***UPDATE*** Congrats to ebook winners Patricia W. & ‘sionedkia’ and grand prize winner Tiffany White.

We’re pleased this week to take part in a blog hop contest sponsored by Tracie Banister, of Books by Banister. The post below contains a “secret” italicized word (*not a book title). Find it, then collect a secret word from each of the other fabulous Chick Lit Blog Hop particpants, and you can qualify for a girly, pampering prize: a $150 Sephora gift card. Leave us a comment and we will select one name at random to win an ebook copy of Worth Lying For (*if you’ve already ordered/read our book, thank you – and please comment anyway; we’ll find you a “worthy” prize). Read on for more details.

A Natural Progression from Chick-to-Hen Lit

I grew up reading romances. I adored the vicarious thrill of living through the hero and heroine’s progress, from fiery arguments to first kiss. I still do. But somewhere along the way, a little book was published. You may have heard of it: Bridget Jones’s Diary. In a flash the publishing world was delirious with chick lit fever. And I reveled in the humor and sheer fun of it all.

Despite the publishing industry’s desire to replicate Bridget Jones, I am not suggesting that the books I devoured were cookie-cutter copies. I have found great diversity in voice, style and quality among chick lit authors–just as with any literary form. In fact, the books I ended up loving the most did not have the young main characters in glamorous (or semi-glamorous) city jobs that are most often associated with the genre. I fell hardest for the sub-set of chick lit often called hen-lit, matron or mum lit, with its quirky characters and quaint village settings.

Living in the United States, I found it difficult to get my hands on all the hen lit I wanted. I could see book after neon-covered book popping up on the web-sites of UK booksellers, but not making it to the States to be published. I ordered titles online and organized visits to book shops on trips to Canada. I still remember the satisfyingly heavy weight of the two large book bags I lugged out of the World’s Biggest Bookstore in Toronto a few years ago.

When TOL (The Other Lisa) suggested we write a book featuring a middle-aged woman living in a small town who just happens to abscond with a big bag of drug money, I immediately envisioned the final copy in a glowing pink or purple cover–an American hen lit book ready to rub shoulders and share a glass of wine with my British favorites, such as Hens Dancing by Raffaella Barker, The Only Boy For Me by Gil McNeil and Every Woman For Herself by Trisha Ashley. I hope our book, Worth Lying For, gives its readers the hours of entertainment and genuine laughter these books have given me.

So let’s review the Blog Hop Contest instructions: Look in the post above for the italicized word (hint, it’s hyphenated), then follow this link to the LIST of blog posts of the other contributing authors. Collect all 34 secret words and submit them to CLABlogHop@aol.com  by Sunday, May 20 to be eligible to win the Grand Prize $150 Sephora gift card. Happy chick-litting & good luck!

  • Contests open to residents of the United States only.
64 responses to “Chick Lit Author Blog Hop Book Giveaway and Gift Card Contest!

  1. Thanks for doing the hop! I love the reference to hen instead of chick! Awesome and your book sounds great!

    Tobi
    tobihelton at gmail dot com

  2. Hi Tobi! Thanks for dropping by the henhouse!

  3. Thanks so much for participating in the hop! I love chic lit and your book sounds awesome.
    slinkydennis@yahoo.com

  4. Thanks for the contest.

    brn2shop9
    brn2shop9 at gmail dot com

  5. I am so darn proud of The Lisas. Someday, I will travel with them and work crowd control at their book signings.

  6. Anyone who met me at a recent Erma Bombeck Writers’ Workshop knows I have the perfect purse for hen-lit fans! Nice job!

    abcdsherman at gmail dot com

  7. WONDERFUL giveaway!! 🙂

    bethanyscruggs[at]gmail[dot]com

  8. Thanks for taking part in the hop! I’m really enjoying meeting all of these new authors. 🙂

    Lisa @ Lost in Literature
    llongi717 (at) yahoo (dot) com

  9. I’m going to go find your book now! I love finding new authors (new to me)!

    caribellacreations at gmail dot com

  10. Theresa Crowell

    Thanks for doing the hop!! I really enjoy “hen-lit” too!!!
    Theresa Crowell
    theresacrowell(at)msn(dot)com

    • Our pleasure. Hens united: together we can…help each other find our reading glasses and remind one another what we came into the room for in the first place.

  11. I’d never heard of hen-lit. Thanks for the crash course
    pinksapphire118 at gmail .com

  12. I’m all for hen-lit. Don’t see enough of it here in U.S.

    • Thanks for the vote of support!

    • Patricia W., you are the winner or our blog hop ebook giveaway! We will contact you by email to send you your free copy of Worth Lying For.

      Thanks to everyone who took part, it’s been a real blast!

  13. I love getting to new to me places! Great hop and giveaway!

    sionedkla@gmail.com

  14. Wow, if two Lisas can put out such fab books, imagine what three Lisas could do. I’d wager there’s never been a book written by three Lisas. 🙂 Glad to be part of the hop. Have fun, Lisas!

    • We smell a Lisa anthology…(smells remarkably like vintage bell bottom jeans). Ooo and your blog is so pretty! We *are* having fun, can you tell? lol hope you are as well.

  15. mimirose41209

    thank you so much for participating. i would love to read more books in the hen-lit sub genre!

    mimirose41209 at hotmail dot com

  16. I love this hop – it’s amazing how so many people were affected by a chubby girl named Bridget. 🙂 Love it!!!!! Thanks for participating!

  17. I loved Bridget’s Jones Diary, Chick lit as well. Thanks for being a part of the hop. I love finding new authors;)

  18. chick lit to hen lit. love it!!
    sidne @ rdg.rendezvous@gmail.com

  19. Viva chick lit! Thank you for your participation!

    Margaret
    singitm(at)hotmail(dot)com

  20. What a fun post … I’m with you, LOVE hen-lit. 🙂
    Very excited about adding your book to the TBR pile (rubbing hands together). Thanks for being a part of the hop.
    orly [at] oklopez [dot] com

  21. Fun post! Thanks for participating.
    Jen scrapperjen1@yahoo.com

  22. looking forward to winning a FREE Chick Lit e-book! i have seem to become a book whore lately!

    gina herberg
    maxpinet@aol.com

  23. I liked your post and love finding new authors. Thanks for doing the hop.

    gatormaryd(at)yahoo(dot)com

  24. I’m so happy the hop brought me to your blog. You two are incredibly funny and witty. I love that!

    Thanks so much for participating in the blog hop. Have an awesome day!

    ocbride (at) gmail (dot) com

  25. I love that sub set of chick lit. I am a mother in my late 30’s and can’t really relate to the 20 somethings. Thanks so much for the giveaway!
    Lmackesy @ gmail.com

    • Ah the thirties, we remember them well. (Not really, we have trouble remembering last Tues.) Ha! Thanks for stopping by, hope to see you around.

  26. Mary jean eraci

    Love chick lit and I used stuff my suitcase every time I flew through heathrow. Thank God for amazon and kindles! Thanks for the blog hop

    MJ

  27. Love that you ‘two Lisas’ paired up to make a dynamo-duo! And so happy that the US has chick lit all over the place now. A world w/o chick lit is, well, no world at all. ;0 Thanks for the blog hop. Looks like _Bridget Jones’s Diary_ was the big topic / inspiration during the hop. Have had a lot of fun and can’t wait to do it again!

    Have a great weekend,
    Savannah Page
    info[at]savannahpage[.]com

    • Hope others read this and hop over to your blog to check out, “When Girlfriends Break Hearts” as well. Support is the middle name of the game (first name Bridget, obviously). Cheers!

  28. Ab-so-lutely! Thanks for the shout-out, ladies. 🙂 Bridget Support Bradshaw day-in and day-out. 😉 Have a fantastic weekend!

  29. I love reading chick lit or (hen-lit). Thanks for the giveaway.

  30. Erica Kincannon

    Hen Lit– I love it! Looking forward to reading your book 🙂
    Erica Kincannon
    EricaLKincannon@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

